Voices

You never know how smart someone is until you give them a voice.

People assume that not talking means not intelligent.  Kindly get that idea out of your mind.  Besides being wrong, it is insulting.  Frame your mind to consider that your assumptions about non-verbal autistics are wrong.  Rethink possibilities for all autistics, giving humanity to all not just some that are called high functioning.

Point the way the way and help those who need assistance to things that will let them express their thoughts.  When you can’t talk and have no way to communicate, you become eminent enwrapped in frustration, and longing to be heard.  You wish someone would give you a chance to be heard.  Sometimes it gets so bad you scream and cry.

If everyone assumed intelligence we wouldn’t have to go through that.

~Henry

3 thoughts on “Voices

  1. Dear Henry, it hurts my heart to think that you have screamed and cried because you had no chance to be heard. But it heals my heart to know that I am among the people blessed to hear you now.
    I want to tell you how you have helped me. I have a friend, Henry. She is a girl who is 16, who is non-verbal autistic and she has severe physical disabilities as well. I helped to catechize her so she could be confirmed in the Holy Spirit. We have been friends for a few years. I love her very much. Since you have been writing, I have come to understand completely my friend has many excellent thoughts which she cannot express to me or to anyone else. The people who love her can tell her preferences, but we cannot know her thoughts.

    Because of your writing, I speak to her differently now. I look at her and talk to her. I no longer talk about her or around her even though she may be right there. And then I say, “Hannah, maybe someday you will be able to tell me your excellent thoughts about this. But if not in this life, please talk to me about this when we are in heaven.”

    Henry, then she looks into my eyes with deep understanding and even longing. We both look forward to heaven, where we can talk to each other.

    Maybe rpm will be a miracle in her life, as it has been in yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Hen! I am SO proud of you for using your own unique voice to tell people the deal with autism. You are doing a great thing to remind everybody about the human in front of them with intelligence so amazing but can’t always been seen at first glance. Keep up the good work, I know it takes a lot out of you to RPM but YOU ARE FANTASTIC, never forget that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know this is not the same AT ALL, but it links to what you said about ‘presuming competence and intelligence.’

    I remember learning to talk. I remember being a baby and understanding what people were saying to me but not knowing how to move my mouth to make the sounds I wanted. When my son was born, I remembered this and talked to him presuming he could understand me. He laughed at a verbal joke before he was talking; he fetched stuff he had hidden from us (Daddy’s screwdriver that he needed for a job!) when we asked him to – again before he could talk.

    Just because someone can not, or does not talk, does NOT mean they do not understand and does NOT mean they can not communicate. It is down to the rest of us to work out a way of helping the communication along and to LISTEN to what they are ‘saying.’

    Like

Leave a Reply

