Camp

So many kids with autism lack the chance to make friends with other kids with autism.  All kids need kindred friends to relate to and form friendships.  It can be hard at school because you are busy working, and it taxes all autism neurology resources just getting through the day.  Arranging things like a camp for special needs is a great opportunity to make kindred friends.

I am going to a camp this summer called Camp Pow Wow. It is awesome.  I get to do so much that I normally wouldn’t get to do, and I have met all kinds of great kids.  We are able to be together and not feel pressure to be like the typical kids.  We can be ourselves and have fun!

Keeping busy is really important too for autism.  Feeling bored in summer is not great for sensory alignment.  Physical activity is regulating to autism sensory system.  When I get to do things like swim in the lake, and hike, and canoe, I feel more clear headed and calm.  Being in nature in the forest is utterly restful and makes me calm.  If more kids could go to a camp like this they would reap so many benefits!

image

Off to camp

6 thoughts on “Camp

  1. Henry- another counselor at camp showed me your blog and I’m super happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed your first two weeks at camp. Getting to spend time with you has even one of my highlights of this summer. I won’t see you this week but I’ll see you the week after. Have fun!

    Like

    • Hi Liz, you are the ultimate best counselor and a great person. Thanks a lot for all you do with me at camp. My favorite thing to do with you is aloof hiking around the quarry. I will see you next week. ~ Henry

      P.S. do you like my blog?

      Like

  2. Henry,

    I’m so glad Liz showed me your blog. It’s truly amazing to learn more about you than we get to see just at camp. I’ve enjoyed watching you grow up from last year to this year, and am excited to see you for 2 more weeks this summer!

    -Colin

    Like

  3. Hi Henry!

    It’s Scott the camp director here. I just wanted to thank you for coming to Camp Pow Wow this summer and bringing your joy and excitement with you every day! We loved having you at camp each and every day, and will miss you greatly until next summer!

    Also, thank you for your kind words about Camp Pow Wow. It was so cool this summer to see you relaxing with some old friends, and starting to make some new ones!

    And lastly, thank you for sharing your insights on what it’s like to live with autism. You are so very wise, and your blog is truly inspiring! Keep it up!

    You are such a gift to this planet! One thousand high fives and squeezes to you, my friend!

    -Scott

    Like

  4. Henry,

    I love seeing your photo as you were heading off to camp! I used to be a camp counselor when I was in college and I sincerely miss those days! As the summer camping season ends for everyone in Wisconsin, thoughts turn to school. I hope the best for you and hope you learn all the great things that high school has to offer you!

    Mr. Carroll

    Like

Leave a Reply

